Page 2 of 6

Re: Fancybox extension

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2011 12:13 am
by Schop
Yep, it looks like your description is correct.

I don't think adding the parameters adds any value though. If there is a thumbnail, it has a size. The parameters are only for the jCrop script!

Re: Fancybox extension

PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2011 8:34 pm
by Harm10
Just introduced a new version of Fancybox (0.19).
It includes a configuration setting (can be overruled) to specify the thumbnail behaviour for creation and display.
See documentation for specifics.

Default is still to always use the same parms irrelevant of possible existing thumbnail size. In my view this was put in so you'll always be sure all the thumbnail img's displayed had the same size.
If you want something else you can either choose that the thumbnails dimension are always used or when they differ from the current settings they will be recreated (handy when you change the settings; all previous thumbnails will automatically be recreated to the new settings).

Re: Fancybox extension

PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2011 10:48 pm
by Schop
Harm10 wrote:In my view this was put in so you'll always be sure all the thumbnail img's displayed had the same size


But Harm, this is exactly why those parameters are used in the cropper script. And the cropper script has three options, that are now default overridden by these parameters. If you were right, why wouldn't the thickbox script have this?

Re: Fancybox extension

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 5:28 am
by Harm10
I think this discussion is not very relevant here. I kept the extension downward compatible but also introduced a setting so you can let it work like you want. As a bonus there is also a setting you can change the size of thumbnails created a long time ago. So everyone's happy? ;)

Re: Fancybox extension

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 6:54 pm
by Schop
Harm10 wrote: So everyone's happy? ;)


Not really. I disagree, and think the discussion is very relevant. You are making the fancybox extension do something it's not supposed to, and this distorts images on a lot of websites.
Point in case: http://www.mcheerjansdam.nl/racingteam/entry/28/circuit-rijvaardigheids-training-9-april-2010-assen. That picture used to be fine, until Fancybox decided it needed to do something about the size of the thumbnail. Now, I know in the meantime this problem would probably be gone with the last update, but then still...

It's ok though. I hacked my own custom fancybox, and will make sure it doesn't get updated.

Re: Fancybox extension

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 7:27 pm
by Harm10
Just one comment on your last comment: this behaviour of wanting to have the thumbnails always show up with the same size has been there for a rather long time. I know that thumbnails can get distorted if you introduce other upload dimensions or create your own thumbnails. So why you are insisting on something that's been not to your liking now is beyond me. You can get it like you want now, I think that's most important.
The only thing that could be changed is the default and if other users (or developers) agree with this there is no problem doing so.

But of course you are free to use your own custom Fancybox, this is Open Source!

Re: Fancybox extension

PostPosted: Sat Jul 23, 2011 5:36 am
by Schop
Harm10 wrote: So why you are insisting on something that's been not to your liking now is beyond me.


Why now? Because I couldn't figure out for the life of me what the hell was going on with my thumbnails, and it had no priority to me until now. Then I discovered something was going on in Fancybox....

Re: Fancybox extension

PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2011 3:08 pm
by djoeyb1
Hello,
I want to use the Fancybox extension for showing a iFrame.
It worked, but I don't want a textlink. I want a link with a image.
How can I do this?

Re: Fancybox extension

PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2011 6:22 pm
by Bob
You can, but you'll have to use a bit of HTML to do so. An example:

Code: Select all
<a href="http://www.google.com" class="fancybox"><img src="/images/2011-08/imagename.jpg" /></a>

Re: Fancybox extension

PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2011 8:40 pm
by Harm10
The documentation gives you a sample for type text but also states that it works for iframe and flash.
So something along the line of
Code: Select all
[[popup description="(thumbnail)" title="Thumb and Iframe" fb_type="iframe"
  url="http://www.google.com" file="2010-01/image1.jpg" width="200px" height="150px"]]
should work!