Page 5 of 5

Re: Nivoslider

PostPosted: Thu May 09, 2013 7:34 pm
by Harm10
I've created an entry that contains cycleshow, slideshow and nivoslider and managed to get comments in normally when using FF.
This also worked in IE10.
So there has to be something in your setup that interferes.
I am using PivotX 2.3.6 on MySQL.
You have the [[ message ]] tag in your template?
Perhaps you should post your commenting part of the template.

Re: Nivoslider

PostPosted: Fri May 10, 2013 5:34 pm
by Effevee
Harm10 wrote:I've created an entry that contains cycleshow, slideshow and nivoslider and managed to get comments in normally when using FF.
This also worked in IE10.
So there has to be something in your setup that interferes.
I am using PivotX 2.3.6 on MySQL.
You have the [[ message ]] tag in your template?
Perhaps you should post your commenting part of the template.


Hey Harm,

Thanks for the troubleshooting.

My setup :
- PivotX 2.3.6 with flat file database on a Synology Diskstation 212J NAS
- templates are based on skinny but with modifications
- header template now uses cycleshow (instead of nivoslider) to cycle through the banner images
- entry template uses a bonusfield gallery and has the [[ message ]] tag (see code)

Code: Select all
[[ include file="`$templatedir`/_sub_header.tpl" ]]
<div id="content">
    <div id="main">
        <div class="entry">
            <h2><a href="[[ link hrefonly=1 ]]">[[ title ]]</a></h2>
            <h3>[[ subtitle ]]</h3>
            [[ introduction ]]
       <hr>
        <div class="gallery">
        [[bonusgallery assign='gallery' content=$entry.extrafields.gallery_fv fancybox='1']]
        [[foreach from=$gallery item='image']]
                <a href="[[$image->src]]" class="fancybox" title="[[$image->title|escape]]" rel="[[$image->rel]]">
                <img src="[[$image->getImgSrc(106,80)]]" alt="[[$image->alt|escape]]" title="[[$image->title|escape]]" />
                </a>
        [[/foreach]]
        </div>
        <p>&nbsp;</p>
       [[ body ]]
            <div class="meta" style='clear:both;'>
                [[ user field=emailtonick ]] plaatste dit bericht in [[ category link=true ]] op 
                [[ date format="%day% %monthname% %year%" ]] 
                [[* permalink text="&para;" title="Permanent link to '%title%' in the archives" *]]
                [[ editlink format="Edit" prefix=" | " ]]
        <br> [[ tags ]]
            </div>
            [[ if ($entry.allow_comments == 1) ]]
                <hr>   
                <div class="commentblock">   
        <p>[[ commcount ]]</p>   
                    [[ comments ]]
                    <div class="comment">
                        %anchor%
                        <img class="gravatar" src="%gravatar%" alt="%name%" />
                        <div class="comment-text">
                            %comment%
                            <div class="meta">%name%, %email% %url% - %date% %editlink%</div>
                        </div>
                    </div>
                    [[ /comments ]]
                </div><!-- .commentblock -->
                [[message]]
                [[commentform]]
            [[ /if ]]
        </div><!-- .entry -->
        <div class="pagenav">
            [[nextentry text="<a href='%link%'>%title%</a> &raquo;" cutoff=20 ]] |
            <a href="[[home]]">[[t]]Home[[/t]]</a> |
            [[previousentry text="&laquo; <a href='%link%'>%title%</a>" cutoff=20 ]]
        </div>
    </div><!-- #main -->
    [[ include file="`$templatedir`/_sub_sidebar.tpl" ]]
</div><!-- #content -->
[[ include file="`$templatedir`/_sub_footer.tpl" ]]


I've just tried to post some comments with FF and strange but true, it now works ok. Can't explain it, because I haven't made any changes to my templates since the cycleshow modification a few days ago...

Greetz,

Effevee

Re: Nivoslider

PostPosted: Fri May 10, 2013 6:42 pm
by Harm10
Your code looks OK. Remember that you sometimes have to clear the cache to get some changes through. That could not only mean clearing the cache through the dashboard but also in your browser. And if you are using some of the cache settings (General settings) you should remember to switch them off before attempting changes.

Re: Nivoslider

PostPosted: Mon Sep 02, 2013 6:54 pm
by EdwinH
I have a problem with multiple sliders in one page. When i use the slider ID i get a gap below the image and above the bullets that i use. I can't find anything in my css script neighter in the css of my webpage.

I attached a image to show the problem.

Any suggestions where the gap comes from and how I can resolve it? By the way: is there also a way to make the lines (above and below the image) go away. That's something I also can't find in the css script.

Re: Nivoslider

PostPosted: Mon Sep 02, 2013 9:07 pm
by Harm10
I have a sample page with multiple sliders on my own website: http://www.remark-webdesign.nl/page/nivoslider-en/remarkwebdesignen
Do you see the same problem there?
Also please specify which versions (PivotX and Nivoslider) you are on.
Is the problem the same in all browsers?

Re: Nivoslider

PostPosted: Tue Sep 03, 2013 2:44 pm
by EdwinH
The problem is there in all the browsers (ie8, ie10, Firefox, chrome, etc). Also the loading image won't display when i use a ID. Sliders without the ID have a loading image, but when i use the slider ID, the loading image won't display

Re: Nivoslider

PostPosted: Tue Sep 03, 2013 6:53 pm
by Harm10
Please send me your exact code and if possible the images you want to display.
Although it is not "my" extension I am intrigued by your problem.
I cannot promise you anything, as I am very busy, but if possible I can try to reproduce your problem.

Re: Nivoslider

PostPosted: Sun Sep 08, 2013 9:06 am
by Harm10
Have taken a look on the site itself and it turned out to be an incorrect css of theme Phoenix (which has the nivoslider css copied in -- bad idea!).
The current theme files of Phoenix contain a correct css so whenever someone encounters this problem (and uses theme Phoenix) please check the theme files.

Re: Nivoslider

PostPosted: Wed Feb 12, 2014 12:43 pm
by Sanzine
Hope someone can help me with the following issue.

I have installed Nivoslider (latest version, PivotX version 2.3.7), put slides in the slides directory. Slides have different sizes (height and width) and the slider is then stretching the images to the width of the div. No matter what the height of the image is.

When I put in images all with the same height, but different widths, it's doing the same.

I would like the nivoslider to show the images either at the max height of the div or the max width of the div. And not always stretch to the max width. How is this accomplished?

Thanks in advance for your help!

Re: Nivoslider

PostPosted: Wed Feb 12, 2014 8:07 pm
by Harm10
A lot of sliders "suffer" from this problem. You can buy a version of Nivoslider that does cropping but that is no help to you......

As an alternative you could try extensions DirGallery and Cycleshow that do work with images of different dimensions.
I used the first to create this: http://www.remark-webdesign.nl/page/special-gallery/remarkwebdesignen
And there is an example on my own site for Cycleshow: http://www.remark-webdesign.nl/page/cycleshow-en/remarkwebdesignen