slideshow not working properly

This is the place to discuss bugs that have been found in the most recent version of PivotX. Posting bugs will ensure that the Development Team is aware of them and that they will be addressed when resources are available.

Re: slideshow not working properly

Postby Harm10 » Sun Mar 13, 2011 11:52 am

You could try to upgrade to 2.2.5 (you now have 2.2.4 and is wise to do for other reasons) but looking at your source it seems that all slideshows thumbs have become fancybox thumbs. Normally the listitems within the slideshow are plain img tags. Yours are anchor and img:
Code: Select all
<li>
<a href="/images/slideshow/0.jpg" class="fancybox" rel="slideshow" title="0">
<img src="/pivotx/includes/timthumb.php?src=slideshow%2F0.jpg&amp;w=250&amp;h=180&amp;zc=1" alt="0" width="250" height="180" />
</a></li>
They should read:
Code: Select all
<li>
<img src="/pivotx/includes/timthumb.php?src=slideshow%2F0.jpg&amp;w=250&amp;h=180&amp;zc=1" alt="0" width="250" height="180" />
</li>

So apparently your code has fancybox interfering with slideshow (or vice versa). Maybe first try it on a page where there is no fancybox at all?

And btw (also @Marza) as long as you didn't change the location of your main images folder timthumb would work normal because it expects images as main folder.
Quality is in the detail of things............

Want to change or update your PivotX site? Mail or PM me!
I can also convert your site to a Wordpress site!
Harm10
Developer
 
Posts: 2011
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 9:37 am
Location: Somewhere in The Netherlands (aka Holland)

Re: slideshow not working properly

Postby ljhelbo » Sun Mar 13, 2011 12:17 pm

Yes, I probably should upgrade.

For the source code. If I turn off popup in the widget configuration, I get the source code the way you say it should be; but it does not make the thumbs visible :(

By the way, I wonder if it may have something to do with php. I have php 5.3. does timthumb.php require any special php-extensions?
---
Just took a look at the documentation for timthumb.php. I have Gd library enabled, but the folder cache is not created. Where is it supposed to be - so i could try to create it manually?
Last edited by ljhelbo on Sun Mar 13, 2011 12:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
ljhelbo
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 2:58 pm
Location: Denmark

Re: slideshow not working properly

Postby Harm10 » Sun Mar 13, 2011 12:27 pm

Ah, I forgot you can switch on pop-up in slideshow config. When I do the code becomes exactly like yours (but with thumbs showing). I have PHP 5.2.17 so I guess you are in the clear there.
Are there perhaps any warnings in the debug log or server log? And if those pictures currently in slideshow are used in a static fancybox you can see a thumb?
Quality is in the detail of things............

Want to change or update your PivotX site? Mail or PM me!
I can also convert your site to a Wordpress site!
Harm10
Developer
 
Posts: 2011
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 9:37 am
Location: Somewhere in The Netherlands (aka Holland)

Re: slideshow not working properly

Postby ljhelbo » Sun Mar 13, 2011 12:33 pm

On my test page http://www.frijsendal.dk/?p=test

I just put in a popup of one of the pictures from the slideshow, and as you can see, there it works. So I tend to believe the problem is the missing cache-folder. Maybe the problem is that my server is on Windows (yes, I know that is no good and I intend to get a proper linuxetc. :D )
ljhelbo
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 2:58 pm
Location: Denmark

Re: slideshow not working properly

Postby Harm10 » Sun Mar 13, 2011 2:22 pm

That error log doesn't ring a bell.....................
In your static fancybox sample an already existing thumb is used (see the img tag). You should use a sample of a picture with a non-existant thumb so fancybox is forced to incorporate timthumb into the code to create a correct compare.
Just to try to pinpoint what function goes wrong: the thumbnail on the fly creation or something else within slideshow itself.
Quality is in the detail of things............

Want to change or update your PivotX site? Mail or PM me!
I can also convert your site to a Wordpress site!
Harm10
Developer
 
Posts: 2011
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 9:37 am
Location: Somewhere in The Netherlands (aka Holland)

Re: slideshow not working properly

Postby ljhelbo » Sun Mar 13, 2011 2:41 pm

OK, I see. Now I tried to delete all thumbnails in the slideshow-folder and then reload the page.

The static popup created and showed the thumbnail right away, no problem there. But the slideshow still shows no thumbs - and does not create any.
ljhelbo
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 2:58 pm
Location: Denmark

Re: slideshow not working properly

Postby Harm10 » Sun Mar 13, 2011 3:47 pm

Just looked at the code of fancybox to see that you now forced the creation of a thumb for sure but this shouldn't show in the html source (which seems more efficient anyway). So I still think there is something wrong with slideshow. But...... if you could activate extension gallery and add gallery to an entry then you would be absolutely sure because gallery also uses timthumb in flight creation. I guess you are using slideshow 0.7? But I am getting at the end of my knowledge about this subject....... :(

Another point: you have readable mailaddresses in your source; that's not a good idea for spamming...... you haven't switched on configuration parm encode_email_addresses?
Quality is in the detail of things............

Want to change or update your PivotX site? Mail or PM me!
I can also convert your site to a Wordpress site!
Harm10
Developer
 
Posts: 2011
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 9:37 am
Location: Somewhere in The Netherlands (aka Holland)

Re: slideshow not working properly

Postby ljhelbo » Sun Mar 13, 2011 4:02 pm

Ups - I have now :oops:

OK, I will take a look at gallery
ljhelbo
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 2:58 pm
Location: Denmark

Re: slideshow not working properly

Postby hansfn » Sun Mar 13, 2011 6:04 pm

I should really have taken part in this thread earlier ...

@Gerard113: Your problem isn't really the open_basedir restriction, but that display_errors is On (in stead of Off which it always should be on production sites - your hoster should fix that). timthumb.php is actually creating a valid JPEG image, but the open_basedir warnings makes the image invalid.

@ljhelbo: Your problem is a single line break in the beginning of timthumb.php - don't know how it got there, maybe your FTP client messing up? (If you save this thumbnail (on your site), and remove the first empty line in a text editor, it will actually display nicely.) And timthumb.php doesn't create any thumb files (on the file system).

@Harm: 1) 2.2.4 is completely safe. 2) If you select fancybox as popup type for the slideshow you get the HTML code that ljhelbo had - it's correct.

@Marza: You are wrong - timthumb.php is fecthing the images from the images folder, and "images" should not be part of the src parameter.

Did I forget anything ;-)
hansfn
Developer
 
Posts: 3282
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 7:48 pm
Location: Molde, Norway

Re: slideshow not working properly

Postby Harm10 » Sun Mar 13, 2011 7:43 pm

No I don't think you forgot anybody............. I thought 2.2.4 was only preliminary safe and 2.2.5 should be the version everyone had to upgrade to. Apparently this is not true. I already corrected my initial respons about the fancybox popup.
I am wondering........... how did you find this single line break in timthumb? Or is this the secret of the expert.......... ;) ?
Quality is in the detail of things............

Want to change or update your PivotX site? Mail or PM me!
I can also convert your site to a Wordpress site!
Harm10
Developer
 
Posts: 2011
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 9:37 am
Location: Somewhere in The Netherlands (aka Holland)

PreviousNext

Return to 2.x Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron