A couple of questions

Discuss PivotX 2.0.x here. Non-PivotX related discussions go in The Drain.

A couple of questions

Postby amro » Mon Dec 10, 2012 11:18 am

Hi. I have been keeping a blog on some free blogging service, but my needs grew and the service was limited, so I've decided to move. I'm a software developer (desktop apps though (C++), not web), but I know HTML and I'm learning php and CSS. I've been researching the various CMSes around and so far PivotX's features seems to fit my needs the most. I like how it's lightweight, has an active community and developers who are actually still around, and I like how it handles templates. But I have a couple of concerns and I'm hoping someone might be able to help me understand things better because I'm really still a newby.
  • If I ever need to move my blog to a different CMS, or a newer version of PivotX (when is PivotX 4 coming?), would it be possible to automate this somehow without having to re-enter everything on the new CMS? I suppose PivotX will store the blog posts in the database in a format that only makes sense to PivotX, is that right? It's not a HUGE issue if that's the case, but I'd just like to understand this better. I understand this could be the case with all CMSes. Is there something I can do to reduce or remove this dependancy, like for example writing posts in html?
  • The Smarty documentation speaks about a syntax which looks like { stuff }, while PivotX templates use [[ stuff ]]. Why is that?

Thank you in advance.
amro

Re: A couple of questions

Postby Harm10 » Mon Dec 10, 2012 12:16 pm

First of all welcome to PivotX!

I will try to answer some of your questions.

When PivotX 4 is coming is not clear. Last I heard (I am not actively involved) the plan was January 2013.
Obviously there will some automation script for your data but as far as I know this will not be the case for the templates (mainly because the new set up will be so different).