How to translate (frontend and backend)?

Discuss PivotX 2.0.x here. Non-PivotX related discussions go in The Drain.

How to translate (frontend and backend)?

Postby docman » Sat May 30, 2009 6:45 pm

Hi, I see that when language is changed, this will have an effect on the frontend, only.

I would consider to make changes and also - in time - would like to translate the backend.

I would much appreciate info on how to go about it in technical terms.

I found this option for editing the backend, so far:
pivotx/pivotx/index.php?page=homeexplore&additionalpath=pivotx%2Flangs#

I do not see where can I set the language of the backend, though.

Thanks in advance.
docman
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 12:11 pm

Re: How to translate (frontend and backend)?

Postby hansfn » Sun May 31, 2009 7:11 am

You didn't find the announcement thread Translation request? Weird. (We should move the page on the wiki to the PivotX book.)

You set/change the backend language under "My Settings".
hansfn
Developer
 
Posts: 3282
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 7:48 pm
Location: Molde, Norway

Re: How to translate (frontend and backend)?

Postby docman » Sun May 31, 2009 10:47 am

Thanks for your help.
docman
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 12:11 pm

Re: How to translate (frontend and backend)?

Postby docman » Sun May 31, 2009 10:55 am

I noticed when backend language is switchewd to Hungarian under Administration/Categories the explanation (in bold) remains in English:

Kategóriák
Kategóriák létrehozása, szerkesztése és törlése

Alapértelmezett kategória: default.
This means that new entries will have this category, unless you edit the selected categories.

It seems this expression is missing from the hu.mo language file.

Thanks.
docman
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 12:11 pm

Re: How to translate (frontend and backend)?

Postby docman » Sun May 31, 2009 10:57 am

Also, it would be nice to translate the info-text in the popup boxes. Is there a way to do that?

Thanks
docman
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 12:11 pm

Re: How to translate (frontend and backend)?

Postby hansfn » Sun May 31, 2009 3:34 pm

I noticed when backend language is switched to Hungarian under Administration/Categories the explanation (in bold) remains in English:
...


Did you check the stats on the page I pointed to?

Code: Select all
Language               Translated        Fuzzy         Untranslated
...
Hungarian (hu)         720  72 %          20  2 %       260 26 %
...


It couldn't be that the string "This means that new entries will have ..." just wasn't translated?
hansfn
Developer
 
Posts: 3282
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 7:48 pm
Location: Molde, Norway

Re: How to translate (frontend and backend)?

Postby docman » Sun May 31, 2009 4:15 pm

No, I have not. I see now. Thanks.
docman
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 12:11 pm


Return to 2.x Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests